Why we should all sit with Kaepernick

Dr. Lisa Vallejos

I love this country.  I love the ideals that this country stands for–I love that the USA is known as the Land of the Free and the Home of the brave. I love the idea that “all men are created equal” and the five founding ideals of democracy, liberty, rights, equality and opportunity.

But in recent years, I am at odds with much of what this country has become.  I love the USA’s ideals but I can no longer swallow the disconnect between our stated ideals and what is practiced.  In psychology, we call this “cognitive dissonance” which is when there is a difference between thoughts, attitudes and beliefs and actions. In daily life, it’s the person who says they believe in honesty and integrity and then lies to others.

I love what this country ideologically stands for and I despise what it has become.  I despise it because…

View original post 796 more words

Leave a Reply

