The Bucket List Project

The Bucket List Project is a new venture that I am embarking on with my two kids in 2015 (and beyond). The backstory, in short, is that my son Gabriel was born with a congenital heart defect and received a heart transplant when he was 13 days old. One day, as I held my infant son, terrified and despairing, I turned a page in one of my favorite books “Existential Psychotherapy” by Irvin D. Yalom. There was a phrase that jumped out at me and it was “though the physicality of death destroys us, the idea of death saves us”. That moment was life-changing for me…I’d always liked existential thinking but never really thought of myself as an existentialist. It’s one thing to be drawn to something and another thing to be fully committed to it. I was reborn that day. I committed to my son and myself that no matter what life brought, no matter what Gabriel’s future might be, that we would live lives that would be maximized happiness and minimal regret.

I had no idea what I was signing up for.

As part of the journey, my kiddos and I have decided to make a family Bucket List and start fulfilling those dreams. We are publishing our journey in video and written format because if there’s one thing I know for sure it’s that none of us are promised tomorrow. Too many people wait for a diagnosis to make the changes they want to make in life, and the dying often regret how they spent their lives. Although Gabriel’s diagnosis and treatment has been devastating, it has also been a great blessing. The awareness of the miracle of his life has made me realize the miracle of ALL life and that is something I want to share with the world. Don’t wait to live.

Please join us on our journey.

One thought on “The Bucket List Project

  1. Pingback: The Bucket List Project | Lisa Vallejos

Leave a Reply

